Spooky Snapchat Story

The following is based on a true story…

I went to a very large college, so naturally social media was just a part of everyone’s daily lives. There was an incident with one in particular that got me in this… predicament. The app was called Snapchat. It allowed people to take photos of friends that would disappear in a span of about ten seconds; or the user would be able to put pictures and videos on their story for all of their friends to see that spanned for about 24 hours.

I’m not one for social media because of all that drama that would seemingly be conjured up from it. I usually stuck with Facebook to stay in contact with family and old friends.

Eventually one of my friends got me into it, because of all of the funny pictures he would receive of previous nights out. I downloaded the app and immediately put my username on Facebook to find friends on Snapchat. I ended up with around 50 friends before anything weird happened. I would post some selfies here and there, and of occasionally put up pictures of parties, or things I thought were hilarious.

Things started to get weird when I got a friend request from a user named DaBae26. I didn’t really pay too much mind because hey, the more friends, the merrier, right? A few days go by, and I get a snap from her saying, “Hey, i think you’re cute.” Surprised, I replied with a selfie, with text saying, “Really? You think I’m cute?” I got a weird vibe, because whenever I asked her for a picture, she would send a blank black screen, or a picture of a stick figure or something.

A few days went by, and it was a normal day… until I got home and opened up snapchat. (Mind you my phone had been out of service for a bit, so I would receive all of the snaps I would get throughout the day all at once.) When I opened the snaps from DaBae26, my spine shivered with so much fear. There were pictures of me all over campus.

I asked my friends if they were playing some sick game with me, because this had been going on for a week. All of them seemed pretty dumbfounded and swore up and down that they have no idea who up to this, and that I should notify campus security if I felt that I was in danger.

I eventually decided to just ignore the snaps but that’s when it got even worse. I let curiosity get the best of me and opened up long snap from DaBae26.  What I am about to say puts me still in a state of shock to this day. The picture was what seemed to be a person sleeping in a bed with the same bed sheets as mine.

Spooky Snapchat Story adapted for Pantano Readers by Armani Stewart, based on a story from from https://www.reddit.com/r/nosleep/comments/1l1hhv/do_not_ever_go_on_snapchat/

Leave a comment